Minor Scales

by Jay Ford, Director on September 27, 2021

First, I am going to apologize for not writing an August Blog. We were on vacation, and I fell into a vegetative state of mind.

In July I wrote about Minor Scales and left with the question why Natural Minor. The answer is that there are four different minor scales not counting the modes. (modes will require additional blogs)

To review the Natural Minor scale contains the same notes as its relative Major Scale. The next minor scale we will look at Is the Harmonic Minor Scale.

To construct a Harmonic Minor Scale, raise the 7th note of a Natural Minor Scale a half step. Ex. The notes of the A Harmonic Minor Scale are A, B, C, D, E, F, G#, A.

By raising the 7th degree a half step you create a augmented 2nd interval between the 6th and 7th degrees creating a very unique sound for the scale.

The following Harmonic Minor Scales are:

A B C D E F G# A
E F# G A B C D# E
B C# D E F# G A# B
F# G# A B C# D E# F#
C# D# E F# G# A B# C#
G# A# B C# D# E FX G# (X=double sharp)
Eb F Gb Ab Bb Cb D Eb
Bb C Db Eb F Gb A Bb
F G Ab Bb C Db E
C D Eb F G Ab B C
G A Bb C D Eb F# G
D E F G A B C# D

More Minor Scales next month!


Get Notified of New Blog Posts!