Musical Keys

by Jay Ford, Director on June 30, 2021

On the April blog I wrote about the musical alphabet.

The alphabet has 12 notes, therefore the language of music has 12 Major and 12 Minor Keys. Each key being named from each note name of the alphabet.

The notes contained in a major key are derived from the Major Scale.

A Major Scale contains 7 different notes. (8 notes counting the octave)

The intervallic distance between each note is as follows:

Whole, whole, half, whole, whole, whole, half step.

The following Major Scales are:

G A B C D E F# G
D E F# G A B C# D
A B C# D E F# G# A
E F# G# A B C# D# E
B C# D# E F# G# A# B
F G A Bb C D E F
Bb C D Eb F G A Bb
Eb F G Ab Bb C D Eb
Ab Bb C Db Eb F G Ab
Db Eb F Gb Ab Bb C Db
Gb Ab Bb Cb Db Eb F Gb

The name of each Major Scale is named from the note of each scale.

Next month we will look at Minor Scales


Get Notified of New Blog Posts!